Horrible legends and cursed places of St. Petersburg

by Elena on November 1, 2018

“Bumaga”, a local media, has collected urban legends about the cursed places in St. Petersburg. We are now publishing the most interesting of these on our blog.

The architect of “Kresty”, immured in one of the cells of the prison

One of the largest pre-trial detention centers in Russia, for obvious reasons, has a bad reputation. There is even a legend that the project of the building provided for a thousand cells for prisoners. However, they turned out to be 999 – in the thousandth the constructor have allegedly immured the author of the project, Anthony Tomishko, so that he would die with the unique architectural secret of the building.

This legend does not coincide with the official information, though. In the “Kresty” there are 960 cameras with an overall capacity of 1,150 people. Tomishko, after the construction of the isolator, continued his professional activities and in 1900 was buried at Nikolsky cemetery.

A body-grinding mill in the Big House on Liteiny Prospect

Building number 4 on Liteiny Prospect is one of the most notorious addresses in St. Petersburg. Here, in 1932, NKVD office has been based. The so-called “Big House” has spawned various legends and not very funny jokes among the people of Leningrad. They said that Siberia was visible from the windows of the building, and Magadan region, where the most people have been deported from European Russia, was seen from the basement. During the war, not a single shell hit this house – according to legend, German prisoners of war who served as human shields were kept in the building. There was a rumor about the underground passage between the Big House and the “Crosses”.

Locals say that during the blockade in the city they were told that even at war time in the secret basements of the Big House, a special electric mill on grinding the bodies of tortured and executed prisoners was working. The bodies of the executed were simply dumped into the Neva river. For the convenience of the NKVD, a special drain pipe was laid, through which the blood of the tortured and executed people flowed directly into the Neva.

Gogol’s house, where ghosts may live

Nikolai Gogol and the Polish poet Adam Mickiewicz lived in a house on Bolshaya Meshchanskaya Street (now Kazanskaya), which was built for himself by a carriage master, Karl Yohim. In the same house lived main hero of Dostoyevsky’s “Crime and Punishment”, Rodion Raskolnikov. Also, the secret adviser Osip Przhetslavsky stayed here, who left a record of a collision with something paranormal in this building.

Abandoned hotel “Northern Crown”, where a local priest died

The Northern Crown Hotel on the embankment of the Karpovka River is one of the most famous and expensive unfinished buildings of St. Petersburg. Construction began in 1988, and in 1997 the hotel was 90% ready for opening. It was assumed that this would be one of the most luxurious hotels in St. Petersburg. However, its construction was prevented the collapse of the USSR, and then owner’s disputes with construction companies from Yugoslavia and Turkey.
In 1995, the hotel held a presentation on the occasion of the imminent opening. At this presentation, Saint-Petersburg’s Metropolitan Priest John died.

 

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: